National Princess Week: Belle

NOTE: Due to some unforeseen issues, I was forced to publish this post after midnight, but it is still to be counted as the entry of the day for April 23. I should be able to return to my schedule from now until the end of the week.

 

The last full week of April is National Princess Week, at least here in the US. I’ve decided to honor the occasion this year by posting photos of the Disney Store-issue princess dolls I’ve added to my doll collection so far, featuring 1-3 princesses each day and culminating in a group photo on Saturday. Today I’m going to start with the Disney Princess I grew up with and who has consistently been my favorite: Belle.

Belle with Book
I love this artwork of Belle! Unfortunately Google wasn’t turning it up for me, so I ended up cropping it from a photo of a box of Disney Princess Band-Aids out of my bathroom linen closet.

The opening paragraph of Belle’s entry on the semi-official (dedicated entirely to Disney properties but not affiliated with Disney or any of its sister companies) Disney Wiki:

“Belle is the female protagonist of Disney‘s 1991 film Beauty and the Beast. She is an intelligent and undeniably beautiful young woman whose traits are looked down upon in her small French village. As a result of her status as an outcast, Belle yearns to ultimately break out of the small-minded community to find and experience a life of adventure.

Belle is also the fifth official member of the Disney Princess line-up.”

and the opening paragraph of her official Wikipedia page: “Belle is a fictional character who appears in Walt Disney Pictures‘ 30th animated feature film Beauty and the Beast (1991). Originally voiced by American actress and singer Paige O’Hara, Belle is the non-conforming daughter of an eccentric inventor. Belle yearns to abandon her predictable village life in return for adventure. When her father Maurice is imprisoned by a cold-hearted beast, Belle offers him her own freedom in exchange for her father’s, and eventually learns to love the Beast despite his unsightly outward appearance.”

Links to the Wikis: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belle_(Disney)http://disney.wikia.com/wiki/Belle

I’ve already covered my 2015 DS Belle in my last post. Here are some more pictures of her, in an outfit I pieced together as an update of her classic gold dress.

DSCF0460
Wrap: Glamorous Gala Barbie, Avon exclusive, 2004. Dress: handmade vintage, 1960s. Bracelet: Barbie Fashionistas Boho Fringe, 2016. Shoes: Barbie Basics Look 002-Collection 002 accessory pack, 2011.

Beast decided to join her for this post as well as the last post. He couldn’t find his formal jacket, so we had him wear his cape instead.

DSCF0463
This pose just screams “prom photo”.

And here’s a more modern look for her!

DSCF0466
Dress: Barbie Fashionistas Chic With a Wink, 2016. Platform sandals: Beyond Pink Barbie, 1998.

Next up: Ariel!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

