Quick Questions

Today I found that my Disney Store Elsa has these dark stains on her legs (they might be from a pair of pants, but I don’t know that for sure because she hasn’t worn those pants for a while).

dscf0450

dscf0451I’ve tried baby wipes and eye makeup remover-all to no dice. Now I just have a couple of questions. 1st: would it be better to use nail polish remover, acne cream, or a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser? I’ve read of all 3 being used successfully, but I’m not sure which one would work best. 2nd: I already have nail polish remover, but it’s non-acetone. Is there any chance it would work, or should I go buy some with acetone?

I’ve done some minor doll restoration work, but I don’t normally have to deal with vinyl staining, so I wanted to get some advice before doing much more, especially since I really love this doll.

One thought on “Quick Questions

  1. I’ve never used the Magic Eraser but I hear it’s excellent. If you use acne cream, it must contain benzoyl peroxide and you must leave your doll in a good strong source of light – preferably daylight – for a good long while for it to work. This has always shifted stains (including 20-year-old pen marks) for me, it’s brilliant. I doubt that nail varnish remover/ acetone will work (yes, it’s the acetone that’s the active ingredient so I do t think non-acetone nail varnish remover would have the same effect). This last is more suited to removing paint than stains, I’ve tried it on stains myself and it’s not worked at all. Before you try all that though – have you washed the area with soap and water?? Sometimes I find it looks bad and then it comes off with a wash – it’s worth a go! Good luck

    Like

Leave a Reply

