Guillermo Flatto

As I write this, Jimmy Kimmel’s last show from Austin, TX, home of the South by Southwest festival, is airing. During the course of the week, he encouraged his viewers to participate in Guillermo Flatto, or Flat Guillermo. Flat Guillermo is very similar to the elementary school Flat Stanley tradition. In this case, viewers would download Flat Guillermo from the Kimmel website (you can find him here: http://abc.go.com/shows/jimmy-kimmel-live/news/news/20150316-print-your-own-flat-guillermo), take pictures of him in random locations, and post them with the hashtag #GuillermoinAustin. I couldn’t make it to Austin and I don’t have Twitter or Instagram, but I still wanted to join in the fun. And then my parents got involved…

Here’s Guillermo in the first location I chose: my mom’s purse.

DSCN0817

When Mom found him, she put him in my Emu boot. I don’t have a photo of that, though.

We already have a weird doll/decoration/meme-without-an-Internet-home in our house: a Madame Alexander Mickey Mouse mini doll we named “Timmy” and attached to our ceiling fan with a cord tied, bungee-style, to his mouse tail. Mom and I decided to let Guillermo do a tandem jump with Timmy.

DSCN0818DSCN0819

My ladies were still in their St. Paddy’s finery Wednesday night, so of course Guillermo had to join the party.

DSCN0820

Midge was the first to take a shine to their visitor,

DSCN0821

and then Raquelle decided to get in on the action.

DSCN0822DSCN0823

After Guillermo left the ladies, he then got to lurk at the back of the stage during a “Weird Al” Yankovic miniconcert,

DSCN0824DSCN0825

an honor that Skipper would also get Thursday.

DSCN0833

Thursday night, and now it’s back to the ladies. Raquelle decided to show Guillermo a night on the town, and ended up taking him either tango- or line-dancing.

DSCN0828DSCN0829DSCN0831

Dancing can wear a guy out, so Guillermo took a breather with Petra, my Russian personal shopper nutcracker.

DSCN0838

Somewhere along the way, the breather must have turned into some sort of drinking game involving strong vodka, because I went into the kitchen Friday morning to find Guillermo passed out on my fridge and guarded by a German shepherd (a magnet, of course) sitting on his chest.

DSCN0837

So Dayton turned out to be just as eventful for Guillermo as Austin!

SXSW and Kimmel in Austin may be over, but would you like to do some Guillermo Flatto-ing of your own? If you do, tell me about it in the comments section!

2 thoughts on “Guillermo Flatto

Leave a Reply

